Starburst Awards

Starburst Awards recognize excellence in the use of Lottery funds for community and conservation projects. Winners are chosen based on the creativity of the project, economic and social impact on the community, and whether the project achieved its goal.

Lottery proceeds are distributed statewide through grants via Great Outdoors Colorado (GOCO), the Conservation Trust Fund, Colorado Parks & Wildlife, and Building Excellent Schools Today (BEST).

Submissions include programs and projects such as, but not limited to: parks, playgrounds, outdoor recreation facilities, land conservation, trail enhancement, open space acquisition, wildlife natural resource preservation, and public school improvements.

Here are the 2020 Starburst Award winners:

  • City of Alamosa - Alamosa Riparian Park
  • City of Lafayette - Nature Kids Discovery Zone & Inspire Trail
  • City of Thornton - Riverwalk Ballfields
  • City of Durango - Durango Softball Complex and Tennis Courts
  • City of Evans - Riverside Park
  • City of Fort Morgan - Brenda Joy Bike Park
  • Larimer County Dept. of Natural Resources - Poudre River Restoration and Resilience Project
  • City of Pueblo - City Park Caboose Project
  • Southern Plains Land Trust - Heartland Ranch Preserve Expansion
  • Town of Avon - Destination Jump, Splash
  • Foothills Park and Recreation District - Clement Park Inclusive Destination Playground

Southern Plains Land Trust
Heartland Ranch Preserve Expansion