AMERICA’S DUELING JACKPOTS COMPETE FOR PLAYER EXCITEMENT Powerball Increases the Jackpot Estimate to $360 Million for Wednesday Draw

AMERICA’S DUELING JACKPOTS COMPETE FOR PLAYER EXCITEMENT

Powerball Increases the Jackpot Estimate to $360 Million for Wednesday Draw

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE, Tuesday, May 14, 2013

DENVER, May 14, 2013 – Players have plenty to talk about as Powerball and Mega Millions jackpots continue to climb.  The Mega Millions jackpot is at an estimated $170 million for tonight’s draw.  Powerball’s jackpot is being raised to an estimated $360 million for the Wednesday night draw.

Colorado Lottery Director, Abel Tapia, says this about the impressive Powerball jackpot, “We are thrilled that the Powerball jackpot has reached the $360 million level. Colorado recognizes the absolute importance of the Powerball game as each dollar towards the game enables our proceeds recipients to create an even more fantastic outdoor experience here in Colorado. We encourage all Coloradans to play this week.”

When the new Powerball game went on sale January 15, 2012, players responded to bigger jackpots, more $1 million and $2 million prizes, and better chances to win any prize. 

“Everybody follows the bigger jackpot, but the real change in Powerball is more prizes, including a lot more million dollar prizes,” said Norman Lingle, Executive Director of the South Dakota Lottery and Chairman of the Powerball Game Group.  “Since the game change, Powerball has created 617 new millionaires created.  Powerball has been rolling out an average of nine millionaires every week, more than one per day, in the new game.”

Players are encouraged to sign the back of their tickets and to keep them in a safe place.  Winners should seek financial and legal advice to make plans to enjoy their new winning experience.  “Don’t forget to check your ticket for other prizes,” adds Lingle, “Powerball has eight other ways to win a cash prize, ranging from $4 to $2 million with Power Play.”

Powerball jackpots start at $40 million and roll until the jackpot is won. Players win by matching the five white ball numbers (1-59) and the red Powerball number (1-35). There are eight other ways to win non-jackpot prizes ranging from $4 to $1 million or up to $2 million if the ticket includes Power Play. The overall odds of winning a prize in the game are approximately 1 in 31. 

Mega Millions jackpots start at $12 million and roll until the jackpot is won. Players win by matching the five white ball numbers (1-56) and the gold Mega Ball number (1-46). There are eight other ways to win non-jackpot prizes ranging from $2 to $250,000, or up to $1 million if the players adds the Megaplier option. The overall odds of winning a prize in the game are approximately 1 in 40. Both games have jackpot odds of 1 in 175 million.

Both Powerball and Mega Millions enjoyed their highest jackpots ever last year when Powerball reached $587.5 million and Mega Millions hit $656 million. While large jackpots generate excitement among players, the Lottery reminds players to play responsibly and not spend beyond their means.  Players must be 18 or older to purchase Powerball and Mega Millions tickets.

About Powerball®

Powerball is played in 45 U.S. lottery jurisdictions. Powerball is a state lottery game facilitate by the Multi-State Lottery Association (MUSL), a government-benefit, non-profit association owned and operated by 33 member U.S. lotteries. MUSL currently coordinates six multi-state games in the United States. Powerball® drawings are Wednesdays and Saturdays at 10:59 p.m. Eastern Time, 9:59 p.m. Central Time, 8:59 p.m. Mountain Time and 7:59 p.m. Pacific Time. For more information about Powerball®, please visit www.powerball.com.

Powerball® and Power Play® are registered trademarks of the Multi-State Lottery Association.

About Mega Millions®

Mega Millions is played in 44 jurisdictions (42 states plus the District of Columbia and the U.S. Virgin Islands).  Florida will join the game on May 15.  Drawings are held Tuesdays and Fridays at 11:00 p.m. Eastern Time; 10:00 p.m. Central Time; 9:00 p.m. Mountain Time and 8:00 p.m. Pacific Time. For more information about Mega Millions, please visit www.megamillions.com.

About Colorado Lottery
Proceeds from the Colorado Lottery’s games – Mega Millions, Cash 5, Scratch, Lotto and Powerball - stay in Colorado to improve the quality of life in the state. The Lottery has returned more than $2.4 billion to the state of Colorado since it was established. Through Great Outdoors Colorado, the Conservation Trust Fund and Colorado Parks and Wildlife, the Lottery has provided funding for new trails, precious open space and wildlife protection. For more information, visit www.coloradolottery.com.

###

MEDIA CONTACT:                       

Brooke Christopher

PHONE303.759.6872 | CELL 720.207.4724

Brooke.Christopher@Lottery.state.co.us 

May 14, 2013
More news